EC Access Award Winners

Each year ICEC and our partner the American Society for Emergency Contraception (ASEC) give two awards at our annual meeting. Our membership nominates the awardees and the ICEC and ASEC Steering Committees and staff make the selection.

The Ellertson Innovation in EC Award is given to an individual or organization that has made a bold move in the EC realm. This award was established by the American Society for Emergency Contraception in honor of Charlotte Ellertson, one of ICEC’s and ASEC’s founders. For more about Charlotte’s life and work, click here.

In 2010, a new lifetime achievement award was awarded to honor the memory of Felicia Stewart, a lifelong reproductive health advocate whose contributions to the field continue to have a tremendous impact. The Felicia Stewart Lifetime Achievement Award is awarded on an occasional basis, when we receive a truly exceptional nomination. Click here for more on Dr. Stewart.

Past Awardees

The Ellertson Award for Innovation in EC

2016: Robyn Elliott (Public Policy Partners)
2015: [No award given]
2014: ACT for Women and Girls
2013: National Women’s Liberation
2012: Venezuela Ministry of Health, British Pregnancy Advisory Service
2011: Diana Blithe (National Institutes of Health, US), Vivian Brache (Profamilia, Dominican Republic), Erin Gainer (HRA Pharma)
2010: PROMSEX (Peru), Lon Newman (Family Planning  Health Services, Wisconsin)
2009: [No award given]
2008: New Morning Foundation
2007: National Network of Abortion Funds
2006: Simon Heller & Nan Strauss (CRR)


The Felicia Stewart Award for Lifetime Achievement in EC (initiated in 2010)

2016: Jeff Spieler (USAID, retired)
2015: [No award given]
2014: Don Downing (University of Washington)
2013: Sharon Camp (Guttmacher Institute)
2012: James Trussell (Princeton University)
2011: Horacio Croxatto (ICMER)
2010: Francine Coeytaux (the Compton Initiative)